The best social media MCP servers, compared honestly
By Tayyab, Founder · Published
A social media MCP server lets an AI assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT read from and post to a social media tool. 8 tools offer one, according to their own pages: Buffer, Content Drifter, Hootsuite, Metricool, Ocoya, Postiz, Predis.ai and Publer. Only Buffer and Metricool say theirs works on a free plan, Content Drifter and Publer are paid-plan only, and Hootsuite, Ocoya, Postiz and Predis.ai do not say whether a free plan has it. We make one of them, so every cell below was read from the vendor's own page on October 14, 2026, each row shows its sources, and "Not stated" means the page does not say.
8 social media MCP servers side by side
Listed alphabetically, not ranked. Each row was checked on October 14, 2026 against the sources under the table. “Not stated” means the vendor's page does not say, which is different from “no”.
| Tool | Hosted or local | Sign-in | Plans that include it | Reads | Writes | Publishes | Directory listings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buffer | Hosted: a remote server at mcp.buffer.com/mcp | OAuth sign-in or a personal API key (the developer guide shows the key as a Bearer header) | Every plan, including Free; usage quotas depend on the plan | Account, channels, posts, ideas, post templates, aggregated post metrics | Create, edit and delete posts; create ideas; create, update and delete post templates | Not stated: posts go to the queue as drafts or scheduled posts | Claude: Not stated (Claude is named as a compatible tool)ChatGPT: Not stated (ChatGPT is named as a compatible tool)Official MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
| Content Drifter | Both: a hosted server at www.contentdrifter.com/api/mcp and a local package (@contentdrifter/mcp) for Cursor, Cline and Claude Desktop | Hosted: OAuth sign-in. Local package: an API key you create in Settings | Lite and up (from Lite at $15/mo); Free does not include it | 4 read tools (list_workspaces, list_upcoming_posts, list_platform_connections, get_brand_kit); at most 100 reads per 60 seconds | 3 write tools (generate_post, schedule_post, publish_now); at most 30 writes per 60 seconds. No delete, analytics, image or video tool | Only publish_now, and only when the call carries confirm set to true and the post has passed Final Review; schedule_post saves a draft unless asked for "scheduled" | Claude: Not listed; you add it as a custom connectorChatGPT: Not listed; you add it as a custom MCP serverOfficial MCP registry: Not listed (searched October 14, 2026) |
| Hootsuite | Hosted: four remote servers (Perch, Nest, Lumen, Parliament), each with its own URL | Sign in with your Hootsuite workspace once; whether that is OAuth or a key is not stated | Not stated; the page asks for an active account and access to the relevant product | Perch: content library, performance and cross-network analytics. Lumen: mentions, sentiment, trends. Nest: inbox | Perch: drafts and scheduling. Nest: assign, reply, tag. Parliament: create, edit, schedule and delete advocacy posts | Perch lists publishing; exact tool names are not published | Claude: Not stated (pre-built connector instructions for Claude, no directory named)ChatGPT: Not stated (pre-built connector instructions for ChatGPT, no directory named)Official MCP registry: No entry from Hootsuite; the only match is a community server by another publisher |
| Metricool | Hosted: a remote server at ai.metricool.com/mcp | OAuth sign-in; an API key header is offered for some clients | Any plan, including Free; plan limits still apply | Brands, analytics and metrics, scheduled posts, best posting times | Create and edit scheduled posts; create posts and send them for review | Listed in the general MCP article ("view, create, and publish posts"), not confirmed in the Claude article | Claude: Listed: Metricool’s Claude help page says it is in Claude’s Connectors DirectoryChatGPT: Not stated (ChatGPT is named as a client that connects by URL)Official MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
| Ocoya | Hosted: mcp.ocoya.com over Streamable HTTP | OAuth only; the docs say a client cannot use an Ocoya API key | Not stated | Account, brands, connected profiles, hashtag libraries, Studio templates, workflows | Create, update, schedule and delete posts; generate draft posts; enable, disable and run workflows | Yes: the docs list publishing post groups | Claude: Not stated (Claude is named as a compatible client)ChatGPT: Not stated (ChatGPT is named as a compatible client)Official MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
| Postiz | Hosted at mcp.postiz.com/mcp, or self-hosted from the open-source backend | API key (in the URL or as a Bearer token) or an OAuth token as a Bearer token | Every plan, per the pricing page FAQ | Connected integrations, groups, posts between two dates, platform rules | Schedule or draft posts, update settings on unpublished posts, generate images, video and clips | Yes: the schedule tool can "immediately publish" posts | Claude: Not statedChatGPT: Not statedOfficial MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
| Predis.ai | Hosted: mcp.predis.ai/mcp | Sign in with a Predis account, no API key to copy; the page does not name OAuth | Not stated | Product pages and the brand kit, to suggest angles | Makes video ads, UGC, static ads, carousels and product videos | No: the page says publishing depends on the other tools you connect | Claude: Not statedChatGPT: Not statedOfficial MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
| Publer | Not stated: Claude connects through an MCP server URL that Publer generates | API key, included in the server URL; Claude is set to "No sign-in" | Business and Enterprise plans | Scheduled posts, connected accounts, analytics | Create draft posts; schedule posts to one or more accounts | Not stated; editing and deleting are not stated either | Claude: Not stated (set up as a custom connector)ChatGPT: Not statedOfficial MCP registry: No entry under its own name in a search on October 14, 2026 |
Our row is read from the code that enforces it: the tool list from the hosted server, the plans from the API gate in our pricing definitions, the limits from the route handlers. Nothing in it is typed by hand. The MCP server page has the full tool list, and the setup guides are for Claude and ChatGPT.
Sources, checked on October 14, 2026
Every claim about another company comes from a page on that company's own domain, or from the official MCP registry's search for the registry column. We read each page on 2026-10-14 and nothing here was copied from a roundup.
- Buffer: Buffer: Social Media MCP; Buffer developers: MCP guide; Official MCP registry, search "buffer" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Content Drifter: Content Drifter: hosted MCP server and tools; Official MCP registry, search "contentdrifter" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Hootsuite: Hootsuite: MCP integrations; Official MCP registry, search "hootsuite" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Metricool: Metricool help: connect Metricool’s MCP; Metricool help: connect Metricool’s MCP with Claude; Official MCP registry, search "metricool" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Ocoya: Ocoya docs: what is MCP; Official MCP registry, search "ocoya" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Postiz: Postiz docs: MCP; Postiz: pricing; Official MCP registry, search "postiz" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Predis.ai: Predis.ai: MCP; Official MCP registry, search "predis" (checked on 2026-10-14)
- Publer: Publer help: connect Claude with Publer’s MCP; Official MCP registry, search "publer" (checked on 2026-10-14)
When another tool fits better
We make one of these servers, so here are the jobs where a row above beats ours, and which row.
- Buffer or Metricool. You want the assistant connection on a free plan. Buffer and Metricool both say theirs is included on Free; ours is Lite and up.
- Metricool. You want analytics and best posting times inside the assistant. Its tools read metrics and planner data; ours has no analytics tool.
- Metricool. You want to add the connector from Claude’s directory without pasting an address. Metricool says it is listed there; ours is a custom connector.
- Buffer. You want the assistant to edit and delete posts, or to manage ideas and templates. Its developer guide lists tools for all three; ours has no edit or delete tool.
- Postiz. You want to self-host the server and keep it on your own infrastructure. Postiz documents a self-hosted MCP endpoint; ours is hosted by us or a local package that still calls our service.
- Hootsuite. Your team already runs Hootsuite and wants listening, inbox and advocacy servers in the assistant. It lists separate servers for each; ours covers writing, calendar and publishing only.
- Predis.ai. You want the assistant to make video ads and UGC from a product page. That is what its server is for; ours writes post text and a suggested image prompt, and makes no video.
- Ocoya. You want the assistant to run saved workflows and manage whole post groups, including deleting them. Its docs list workflow tools and create, schedule, publish and delete; ours has no workflow or delete tool.
Where Content Drifter fits
These are properties of our server as it ships, not a verdict on the others.
- Every write is draft-first: schedule_post saves a draft, and publish_now refuses without confirm set to true and a post that passed Final Review.
- One sign-in covers 7 tools across nine networks, and the posts are written in your Brand Kit voice.
- The assistant runs as you: your plan, your workspace and your connected networks, with the limits in the table.
To see what an assistant can safely run end to end, read what an AI social media manager can automate. The connector is included on Lite and up.
Frequently asked questions
What is a social media MCP server?
A social media MCP server is a Model Context Protocol endpoint that lets an AI assistant call a social media tool on your behalf, for example to list your queue, draft a post or schedule it. 8 tools on this page offer one: Buffer, Content Drifter, Hootsuite, Metricool, Ocoya, Postiz, Predis.ai and Publer.
Which social media tools have an MCP server?
Buffer, Content Drifter, Hootsuite, Metricool, Ocoya, Postiz, Predis.ai and Publer each publish an MCP server, according to the vendor pages we read on October 14, 2026. Hootsuite, Ocoya, Postiz, Predis.ai and Buffer host theirs on their own domain; Metricool hosts one and says it is listed in Claude's connector directory; Publer gives each account a server URL that includes its API key.
Which social media MCP servers work on a free plan?
Buffer and Metricool say their MCP server works on a free plan. Content Drifter and Publer are paid-plan only. The pages for Hootsuite, Ocoya, Postiz and Predis.ai do not say whether a free plan includes it, so the plan cells for them read as stated on the page, or "Not stated".
Can an AI assistant publish to social media without asking me?
Not with Content Drifter, and the other tools differ, as the table shows from each vendor's own page. Our schedule_post saves a draft unless asked for a scheduled post, and publish_now only runs when the call carries confirm set to true and the post has passed Final Review. Predis.ai's server does not publish at all, and Buffer's page says posts go to the queue as drafts or scheduled posts.
Should I use a hosted or a local MCP server?
A hosted server is the simpler choice, because you paste one address into Claude or ChatGPT and sign in. A local package suits Cursor, Cline and Claude Desktop config files, and a self-hosted server (Postiz documents one) suits teams that must keep the connection on their own infrastructure. Content Drifter offers the hosted server and the local package.
Is the Content Drifter MCP server in the Claude or ChatGPT directory?
No. You add it yourself: as a custom connector in Claude and as a custom MCP server in ChatGPT, using https://www.contentdrifter.com/api/mcp. Of the tools here, only Metricool says it is listed in Claude's connector directory.
How current is this comparison, and how was it built?
Every cell for another tool was read from that vendor's own page on October 14, 2026, and each row links its sources. Where a page does not say, the cell reads "Not stated" instead of a guess. Our own row is read from the code that enforces it, and a test fails once the check date is more than 120 days old.